Campuses:    Twin Cities    Crookston    Duluth    Morris    Rochester    Other Locations

N640 Elliott Hall

75 East River Parkway
Minneapolis, MN 55455
Phone: (612) 626-3258



April 2017
Kelly Whiteford is awarded a 1-year Eva O. Miller Fellowship for her final year of doctoral studies. Congratulations Kelly!

February 2017
Recent PNAS paper on rhythm and synchrony perception featured in Inquiry: "The sound of music".

January 2017
Andy Byrne receives an Outstanding Service Award from the College of Liberal Arts. Congratulations Andy!
Magda receives a 5-year award from NIH to study auditory synaptopathy, or "hidden hearing loss".
Andrew is awarded a 5-year renewal of his grant from NIH to study pitch perception and the effects of hearing loss and cochlear implants.


December 2016
Jackson Graves begins his 6-month fellowship from the EU-funded Auditory Cognitive Neuroscience Network in Lyon, France, to work with Barbara Tillmann and Anne Caclin. Congratulations Jackson!

October 2016
Erin O'Neill is featured in an MN Daily article titled "University Researchers Work to Advance Cochlear Implants".

September 2016
Andrew (and CATSS) is featured in an article titled "A New Center Brings New Opportunities".
Sara Miay Kim Madsen joins the lab from the Technical University of Denmark (DTU) as a visiting postdoctoral scholar for the semester.
Erin O'Neill and Hao Lu join the lab as PhD students.

May 2016
Gustavus Adolphus College recognizes Dorea Ruggles '06, PhD, as one of its First Decade Award winners at the College's Alumni Awards Banquet. First presented in 1968, the award is given annually to one male and one female recipient from the 10th anniversary class to recognize early professional achievement. Congratulations Dorea!

April 2016
Jordan Beim is awarded a Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship from the Graduate School of the University of Minnesota. Congratulations Jordan!
Kelly Whiteford wins an NSF travel award to present her research at the International Conference for Music Perception and Cognition (ICMPC) in San Francisco. Congratulations Kelly!
APC Lab members are featured on the Department of Psychology's website! (Graduate and Research pages.)


November 2015
Gene leaves the lab after completing his 3-year postdoc to work for the hearing-aid developer ReSound, but will continue to work at the U as a visiting scientist through CATSS.

October 2015
Ningyuan Wang successfully defended his PhD thesis and has begun work as a research scientist at Nurotron, a cochlear-implant company. Congratulations Ningyuan!
Akshat and Lis (along with the MSP Lab) are featured in a new CLA campaign.

September 2015
Kyle Walsh leaves the lab after completing his 3-year postdoc.
Anahita Mehta joins the lab as a new postdoctoral associate. Welcome Anahita!
Evelyn Davies-Venn completes her postdoc to take a tenure-track faculty position in the Department of Speech-Language-Hearing Sciences at the University of Minnesota. Congratulations Evelyn!

August 2015
Emily departs for her 6-month fellowship in The Netherlands, while Kelly takes over as lab coordinator.
Akshat leaves the lab to begin graduate school at the University of California Irvine.

July 2015
Andrew Oxenham is elected a member of the Acoustical Society of America's Executive Council. Congratulations Andrew!


December 2014
Marion David joins the lab as a postdoctoral fellow. Welcome back Marion!

October 2014
Emily Allen is awarded a fellowship from the EU-funded Auditory Cognitive Neuroscience Network to spend 6 months in Maastricht, The Netherlands, to pursue research related to the perception and neural coding of pitch and timbre. Congratulations Emily!

September 2014
Bonnie Lau joins the lab as a short-term postdoctoral associate. Welcome Bonnie!

May 2014
Evelyn Davies-Venn joins the lab as a new postdoctoral associate. Welcome Evelyn!

January 2014
Andy Byrne joins the group as coordinator of the Multi-Sensory Perception Lab.


December 2013
Marion David joins the lab for 6 months as a visiting PhD student from Lyon, France, just in time to experience Minnesota's coldest winter in 30 years. Welcome Marion!

November 2013
Lei Feng joins the lab as a new postdoctoral associate.

September 2013
Coral Hanson and Kelly Whiteford join the lab as new graduate students.

June 2013
Andrew Oxenham is appointed a Distinguished McKnight University Professor.

March 2013
Funding received from NIH for a 5-year period to support research on auditory and speech perception by cochlear implant users and people with hearing loss.


November 2012
Eugene Brandewie joins the group as a Postdoctoral Associate.

September 2012
Magda Wojtczak is promoted to Research Associate Professor.
Jordan Beim and Jackson Graves begin their graduate studies in the lab.

August 2012
Kyle Walsh joins the lab as a Postdoctoral Associate in Magda Wojtczak's group.

February 2012
Funding received from NIH for a 5-year period to continue our studies of complex pitch perception.


December 2011
Both Bess Borchert and Melanie Gregan successfully defend their PhD theses. Congratulations!

October 2011
Dorea Ruggles joins the group as a Postdoctoral Research Associate and Coordinator of the new Multi-Sensory Perception Lab.

September 2011
Emily Allen is admitted to the Psychology Department's graduate program and Shaye Kiaei also joins the lab as a graduate student.

June 2011
Funding received from NIH for 5 years to support continued collaboration with Shihab Shamma at the University of Maryland into the Neural Correlates of Streaming of Complex Sounds.
The University of Minnesota grants us nearly $1M to build a Multi-Sensory Perception Lab - a facility that will be open to investigators throughout the University to pursue perception-related research.


December 2010
Magdalena Wojtczak is elected a Fellow of the Acoustical Society of America. Congratulations Magda!

May 2010
Andrew Oxenham is promoted to Full Professor in the Department of Psychology.


December 2009
Magdalena Wojtczak receives a 5-year R01 award from the National Institutes of Health (NIDCD) to study the interactions between cochlear processing and audio and speech perception in people with normal and impaired hearing.

January 2009
Andrew Oxenham receives the 2009 Troland Award from the National Academy of Sciences.
Josh McDermott leaves after a 2-year postdoc to take up a postdoctoral position at NYU.


July 2008
Josh McDermott receives the 2008-2009 U of M Outstanding Postdoctoral Scholar Award.

May 2008
Christophe Micheyl and Magdalena Wojtczak are appointed Research Assistant Professors.


December 2007
Christophe Micheyl is elected a Fellow of the Acoustical Society of America. Congratulations Chris!

October 2007
Elizabeth Borchert awarded the David Campbell Graduate Research Fellowship.

February 2007
Josh McDermott joins the lab from MIT as a postdoctoral associate.
Funding received from NIH for a second 5-year period to study complex pitch perception.


© 2014 Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved.
The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer.

Twin Cities Campus:    Parking & Transportation    Maps & Directions
Directories    Contact U of M    Privacy Statement